Friday, September 15, 2017 04:25 AM


Welcome to the Nuckolls Group

Monday, May 03, 2010 04:00 AM

Colin Nuckolls is a Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry at Columbia University. His research focuses on integrating reaction chemistry into electrical devices. He is a founding member of the Columbia University Nanoscience Center. Amongst other awards, he is a recipient of a Sloan Research Fellowship, a Beckman Young Investigator Award, a 2008 ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, and the 2009 ACS Baekeland Award.

The Nuckolls Group Welcomes New Members

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 10:21 PM

Chulho Lee – Postdoc (PhD, Seoul National University)
Taekyeong Kim – Postdoc (PhD, Seoul National University)

Nuckolls Group Welcomes New First Years

Monday, December 12, 2011 08:32 PM

Nathan Daly – B.S., Northwestern University

Timothy Su – B.S., University of California, Berkeley

Jaeeun Yu – B.S. and M.S., Seoul National University

Yu Zhong – B.S., University of Science and Technology of China (USTC)

Nuckolls Group Welcomes New Members

Monday, November 05, 2012 03:45 PM

The Nuckolls Group is proud to welcome three new group members:
Kumar Bharat (University of Nevada, Reno), Christopher Bejger (University of Texas, Austin), and Brandon Fowler (Yale) as postdoctoral research scientists.

Nuckolls Group Welcomes New First Years

Monday, December 23, 2013 03:04 PM

The Nuckolls Group welcomes new first year group members Anouck Champsaur, Grisha Etkin, Margarita Milton, and Madhav Neupane.

Nuckolls Group Welcomes New Members

Monday, December 23, 2013 03:09 PM

The Nuckolls Group welcomes new members Delphine Bouilly, who joins the group as a postdoc from the Université de Montréal, and Rongsheng Chen, who joins the group as a research scientist from Wuhan University of Science and Technology.

Nuckolls Group Member named Guthikonda Fellow

Tuesday, November 24, 2015 04:17 PM

Yu Zhong has been named this year’s Arun Guthikonda Memorial Graduate Fellow.

Nuckolls Group Welcomes New First Years!

Tuesday, November 24, 2015 04:19 PM

First year graduate students, Yan Feng and Elisabeth Purdy, have joined the Nuckolls group.

Professor Nuckolls appointed to chaired professorship

Monday, August 31, 2015 10:01 PM

As of July 1, Professor Nuckolls has been named the Higgins Professor of Chemistry.

Nuckolls Group and NSEC, in collaboration with Stuart Lindsay (ASU), publish in Science

Thursday, February 11, 2010 05:00 AM

In the paper “Translocation of Single-Stranded DNA through Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes,” recently published in Science, we report the fabrication of devices in which one single-walled carbon nanotube spans a barrier between two fluid reservoirs, enabling direct electrical measurement of ion transport through the tube. A fraction of the tubes pass anomalously high ionic currents. Electrophoretic transport of small single-stranded DNA oligomers through these tubes is marked by large transient increases in ion current and was confirmed by polymerase chain reaction analysis. Each current pulse contains about 107 charges, an enormous amplification of the translocated charge. Carbon nanotubes simplify the construction of nanopores, permit new types of electrical measurements, and may open avenues for control of DNA translocation.

For more information, click here